top of page

Will You Marry Me?

Jessica Marie Brimhall

Oct 9, 2018, 5:08 AM (5 days ago)

to me

Kjære familie og venner,

I think this first story tops all the funniest mission stories I've had so far!

  1. Street stand in Oslo. We participated in another street stand to introduce the Book of Mormon with the 21 Day Challenge and free popcorn! We had several missionaries there to help out, either at the table, or contacting in the street nearby. I was out talking with people on the street when I started talking with a man in English. I introduced to him to the Book of Mormon, but soon was interrupted. He said "You look a lot like Spiderman's girlfriend from the movie...you're beautiful!...Do you want to be my wife?" Yup, you read that right. I got a marraige proposal on the street! I told him "No thanks!" He ended up taking the Book of Mormon and the 21 Day Challenge card by the end of the conversation, and again asked "Seriously, will you marry me?" I ended the conversation pretty quick after that and walked away. He started talking to one of the elders, yelling by this point, about how he is a "prince from Poland" and he should be able to marry who he wants. It kind of made a scene. He eventually walked away and we all moved on. We all laughed SO hard! What a funny day!

  2. General Conference! What a time to be a member of the Lord's church! I am so grateful for a living prophet. As I have acted on his counsel to read the Book of Mormon by the end of this year, I have already been blessed! I am again reminded how the Book of Mormon testifies of our Savior Jesus Christ. I know that as I am obedient, the Lord blesses me immediately. I am happier. I am free from harmful influences. I have my priorities in the right places. I have peace and confidence in my standing before God. I know that as I am obedient, the Lord also blesses me in the long run. Though challenging to see now, the Lord will help me connect the dots one day. Until that day, I continue to trust in Him. He has pulled through faithfully in the past. I have faith He will continue to be there always. I love the Lord with my whole heart and will never give up! I remind myself that there is a price to pay to become acquainted with God. It is an investment. I am paying that price. Through the process, the Lord is shaping me, refining me into a woman of God. Though the process hurts, it is worth everything to me, to get to know my Father and Savior (John 17:3).

Have a great week!

Søster Jessica Brimhall

P.S. Pictures coming next week.

bottom of page