top of page

Bergen

The first week in Norway was so great! I am serving in Bergen, a western city. It's the second largest city in Norway. They have a different dialect (or accent) of Norwegian, so it's fun to learn! I serve with four other sets of missionaries in our ward (two elder companionships, one other sister companionship, and a senior couple companionship). It rains most days, and so many international young adults live in Bergen, going to the university here. A few highlights:

  1. First real lesson to one of our investigators! She is already on date for baptism. She asked who the Nephites and Lamanites were, so we explained. We talked about how in general, the Nephites were like Gryffindor (the good guys) and the Lamanites were like Slytherin (the bad guys). She is a big Harry Potter fan! I got to ask her questions, share a scripture, and bear my testimony in Norwegian with her. The Spirit was strong! The Spirit testifies of truth whether it's said in Norwegian or English.

  2. Fast and testimony meeting. One of our investigators, also on date for baptism, came to church yesterday! He's from Brooklyn, New York and we teach him in English. My companion, Søster Stolp and I walked up with him to the stand (he wanted to bear his testimony but was nervous about it). He did a good job! I bore my testimony after him in Norwegian. It was so exciting!

  3. Brimhalls are memorable! When a member of the ward saw I was Søster Brimhall, he told me he remembered an Eldste Brimhall from the 1990s serving in Bergen. He then pulled out a mission memory book and pointed to a picture of Eldste Brimhall. Surely, it was Brian! My Uncle Brian served in Norway, and in the same ward I'm in now! That was a tender mercy, such a fun connection.

  4. Contacting and pastries. We set a contacting goal last Saturday night, and when we reached it, we would go get pastries. We ended up exceeding our goal! We split a few pastries: a lemon Danish-like pastry, one like pain au chocolate, and a chocolate chip cookie (though Norwegian don't have chocolate chips, just chunks of chocolate). Norwegians know how to do pastries right!

Heavenly Father looks out for each one of us, knows us personally, and loves us so much! I know that without a doubt. Tender mercies happened all around me this week. It's just a matter of recognizing them!

Med kjærlighet,

Søster Brimhall

If you have any questions, feel free to email me or check out Mormon.org.

1. Our district and some of our investigators after church! Back row from left to right: Elder Burgoyne, Elder Stephenson, M. (an investigator), Søster Hatch, Søster Love, Søster Stolp (my companion) and I. Front: Elder Lowther (from my MTC district), Elder Hansen, and K. (our investigator from Brooklyn).

2. Bergen city square! We're surrounded by hills and fjords!

3. First day knocking in Bergen!Ris grøtt.

4. This dish is so Norwegian! It's basically rice pudding, with butter, cinnamon, and brown sugar on top. Norwegians emphasize that you eat the topping only on the top. We're not to mix it!

5. Pain au chocolate in the Amsterdam airport!

6. My MTC companion and I enjoying stroop waffels in the Amsterdam airport. We went to a garden room they had inside the airport!

bottom of page