top of page

MTC Week 4: Talle i Kirken (Talk in Church!)

Hallo alle!

On Sunday, I gave my first talk in sacrament meeting in Norwegian! I spoke on how we can have joy while we endure to the end. It was such a special experience to stretch myself and experience the gift of tongues. In our MTC branch (congregation) we are all assigned to prepare a talk for Sunday, but it isn't until they announce the speakers in sacrament meeting that anyone knows who will speak! Though I didn't know I'd speak until five minutes before I delivered it, it was so important to my progression in Norwegian. I'm progressing every day!

Also, yesterday we role played a lesson in class. I was my teacher's companion to an elder in our district who was our investigator. Again, I had no notice to prepare this lesson, so I had to rely on my teacher's Norwegian and the Spirit. It felt so real! I felt as if I had arrived in Norway, not being even close to fluent in Norwegian, but with an experienced companion. Our "investigator" was a Muslim college student and who believed Jesus Christ was a good man and a prophet. It was an incredible experience to work together with my companion by the Spirit to teach him. Through the course of the lesson, we taught him who Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ are and how we communicate with Them. We literally can talk with Heavenly Father through sincere pray, and He answers us! I felt prompted to have him read 3 Nephi 11:10-11, where Jesus Christ testifies of Himself, and His own divine role. Prophets have testified of Him through all dispensations of time. He is not just a good man or a prophet. He is the Savior of the world, and our personal Redeemer. He suffered for our sins, so if we come unto Him through repentance, we can return to our Heavenly Father's presence again. It was such a cool experience to build off of what this man already knew about Jesus Christ.

With leaving the MTC in just a short 11 days, so many thoughts have come through my mind wondering if I'm really ready for this. But through these experiences this week, I learned that who the Lord calls, He qualifies. Because I had worked hard and relied on Christ for all I lacked, He made up the difference and literally worked miracles through me this week.

This week, I hope we all tune in to Jesus Christ's called prophet and apostles in our day! I am so grateful for them and for General Conference. If you listen to their counsel with prayerfully considered questions in mind, you will receive answers. He answers us through thoughts in our mind and feelings in our heart when we study His word and ponder them.

I love you all! Jeg elsker dere!

Søster Brimhall

1-2. My fellow Norwegian søstre and I were so excited to get our Norwegian T-shirts!

3. My companion, Søster Madsen, and I. We ended up matching the flowers at the temple!

4. My BYU roommate Savannah & me at the MTC!

bottom of page